The Pont d’Oye estate began its life as the heart of the metallurgy industry in the Rulles valley, as the first forge was built in the lieu-dit of the same name at the turn of the 17th century. It changed hands between a number of owners until Jeanne Petit took over the estate and its forges and built the eponymous castle in 1644.
It is in this castle that the Marquise du Pont-d’Oye would host such lavish feasts to rival even the Château de Versailles, according to the residents of Habay. The castle was looted during the French Revolution, and reconstruction works were taken up a few decades later.
In 1932, Pierre Nothomb purchased the estate and repurposed it as a cultural meeting place for artists. Pont d’Oye’s unique beauty and fairy-tale name have charmed countless hearts, with Pierre’s great-granddaughter Amélie, upon witnessing the old house and its surrounding forest, instantly falling in love with it.
Its central location at the heart of Europe and of the Greater Region, straddling the border between French and German-speaking regions, makes Pont d’Oye ideally situated as a place of convergence. With a history so closely entwined with music, poetry and theatre, this estate has long been synonymous with discovery, surprise, tolerance and openness.
The philosophy of Château de Pont d’Oye today is simple: preserve this magic and safeguard its forests and waters so that future generations can continue to forge the links upon which tomorrow’s world is built.